HSAHS Appoints Three New Members to Board

HSAHS Appoints Three New Members to Board

New representatives include Molly Baker, Matt Parmenter and Lee Ford Walsh.
The Harbor Springs Area Historical Society – a non-profit, Board-led organization whose mission is to bring history to life through exhibits, events and education – announces three new members to its Board of Trustees.

Joining the Board of Trustees are Molly Baker, Matt Parmenter and Lee Ford Walsh. 

“All three of our newest Board members embody the spirit of community and bring talent, expertise and energy to the table. We are very fortunate to have them by our side, as we continue to guide the Historical Society into a successful future,” said Kristyn Balog, Executive Director.

Molly Baker and her husband Josh own and operate The Outfitter in downtown Harbor Springs, though that is not Baker’s only venture. She describes herself has “an experiential educator who connects people, place and community with non‐traditional teaching methods and approaches.” Previously, Baker served on the board of the Little Traverse Conservancy and volunteered with the Harbor Springs Public Schools implementing “Learn Local” activities. She currently serves on the board of the Manna Food Project, as well as the Historical Society.

Lee Ford Walsh is a third generation Harbor Springs resident. Currently, Walsh works as a realtor for Coldwell Banker and serves on the board of the Harbor Springs Festival of the Book. Walsh serves on the board of the Harbor Hall Foundation and previously the Harbor Point Association.

Matt Parmenter and his family have been summering in the Harbor Springs area for three decades. In 2017, the family moved permanently to the area. Parmenter is a trial attorney and spent six years as a law enforcement officer in Indiana. Prior to joining the Historical Society board, Parmenter was a volunteer at the front desk of the Harbor Springs History Museum.

“Matt’s contributions at the History Museum and the Shay House, give me confidence in his dedication to this esteemed organization’s initiatives and long-term goals,” said David White, elected HSAHS Board of Trustees President. “We look forward to partnering with all our new Board members as the Historical Society propels history and education forward in this area. Managing two historic buildings and a vision to ensure Harbor Springs area traditions live on, we are confident that our current Board is equipped to guide us into a future that strengthens our efforts to bring diverse and relevant programming to this area, while reaching more students and community members than ever before.”

The Harbor Springs Area Historical Society Board of Trustees is currently led by President David White, Vice President Dave Lyle, Treasurer Matt Clarke, Secretary Jan McDonald, and includes renewed terms for trustees Roger Blaser, Amelie Dawson, John Fergus-Jean, Molly Jones, Mary Beth Masimore, Vince Mihalik, and Jordan Shananaquet.

To learn more about the Harbor Springs Area Historical Society programs, call 231-526-9771.